top of page

Get off your phone and sleep!



  • I’d be a hypocrite if I said that I hadn’t struggled with getting off my phone and going to sleep. Most adults need 7 to 8 hours sleep on a regular schedule each night. It is so important to get a good quality sleep on a regular schedule so you feel rested when you wake up. However as teens, we need at least 8 to 10 hours sleep which I'm sure is a time frame that for most of us, is very hard to stick to.


 

  • Create some night time habits!


  • Make sure your bedroom is dark so that you aren’t distracted by any lights. Ensure that your room is quiet ( if you’ve got loud siblings - tell them to “shhh”, they should be sleeping too ). Also, consider keeping all your electronic devices computers, phones, or whatever distracts you most at night out of your room so that you can resist temptation. I know for fact, if my phone is beside my bed and I'm struggling to sleep, it's the first thing I grab. So by placing these distractions outside your sleeping environment you will allow for a more sufficient and restful sleep.

  • When creating a routine you want to make sure: You go to bed at the same time every night. Get the same amount of sleep each night. Avoid eating close to bedtime, talking on the phone etc.

  • If you are still awake after staying in bed for more than 20 minutes, get up. Do something relaxing, like reading or meditating, until you feel sleepy.



  • Elisa Barone



bottom of page